It’s Been A While

Sorry for the hiatus. Since the last posting here I’ve gotten some interesting emails and was happy to hear from one of our former commanders, Jim Dotts. We also had posts here from Mary Lou Addor, the daughter of Col. Addor, and that led to a series of emails. I’ll be working on a post to try to encapsulate that/those communications.

One of the things I’ve been looking for for some time are pictures and recollections of the aquadron picnics we used to have on the soccer field at the intersection of Hwy 269 and the road that came out of Wenigerath. I’ve been going through my pictures and slides and I found a couple. If any of you have more or stories of those picnics please share. In the mean time I will post some of the pictures I’ve rediscovered recently:

Do you remember this guy? Dennis (Bubba) Croy:

One of my favorite memories of Bubba was a trip he and I made one day to Bitburg to deliver some “grade 3” ammo for burning in their burn pit. As most drives go it was picturesque as usual. We got there, after a bit of searching we found the bomb dump, and dropped off the munitions. What a great way to get out of a day of work. After dropping of the munitions we decided to stop at the Rod and Gun Club for lunch. Just made a good day even better. On the way back to the truck a master sergeant barked at the two of us, “Where is your hat? Bubba turned around and replied, “It’s in my pocket.” The master sergeant was getting irritated, he then said, “Why ain’t it on your head?” Without missing a beat Bubba came back with the reply, “Because I can’t get my head in my pocket.” About that time all I wanted to do was get off of Biburg. I don’t remember whether Bubba ever put his hat on. I do know we didn’t waste a lot of time getting on down the road.

On to another picture. This one appears to be the award of some kind of training certificate. I remember MSgt. Fries, TSgt. Pugh, and Jeff Umstead (name tages come in handy. Hope you can help with some more of the names.

Here is a picture of Bob Stanley. He lived in the room next door.


Here are a couple of pictures from the 74-78 tour. This is Dave Snook.

Rather than have this one post go one forever I’ll post this and start a new one.

This entry was posted in General Info, Morbach Alum. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to It’s Been A While

  1. Robbie, I have some photos of Dennis Croy, Nye and others. Croy was on my crew at Morbach 67′ 70′. I am Clarence ‘Joe’ Jolivette. You will find me @

  2. David Messerschmidt says:

    Snook and I got to Morbach on the same weekend..Does anyone know where he is now?

    • richmc461 says:

      Dave, I’m going to put up a few more pictures from that time period. Maybe you can help me with a name.

    • Michael J Euteneuer Sr says:

      i was in ship/rec with Dave Snook and crew back in 78. It would be good to say hey again, if you have an email address that would be great.

    • Ernie Kirby says:

      Dave, what a small world. Ernie Kirby here, Snook is in panama city FL.

  3. MARDENS CAROLINE, FR says:

    Good evenig everybody!

    If you could find pics of the time of “Sgt Bruce Lee Bardin” in 1985 Morbach – Sugny (Beligum), I would apreciate you to send them to me or to post them on the AMMO Morbach on Facebook.

    Thanks in advance guys!

    Caroline Mardens (Brussels- BELGIUM)
    cfmardens@gmail.com

  4. rdark says:

    Bob Stanley eventually brought his wife, Charlotte, over. They lived just down the street from us in Hoxel. He was a nut for sure.

    If you remember, Bub Croy was in a terrible auto accident on the way back from seeing his (future) wife in Koblenz. He was in the Weisbaden hospital for over three months. I picked him up the day he was discharged. We eventually wound up at Frenchie’s in Morbach that day. It didn’t turn out well, but that is another story for another time.

    Brother Jolivette, I would love to see more pics if you have them.

    Bob Dark

  5. MARDENS CAROLINE, FR says:

    Hi again!

    Still no pics about Bruce Lee Bardin somewhere in your drawers? Thank you,

    Yours, Caroline Mardens (Belgium)

Leave a comment